No visa is required for students from the following countries: countries of the Europan Union, Norway, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, and Iceland. 
If your country is not among these, find out if you need a visa before entering the Czech Republic. You can find more information at Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

If you need to obtain a visa before entering the Czech Republic, it is necessary to do it before your arrival. Your application has to be received by the Czech Embassy or Consulate in your country (or responsible for your country). The entire procedure takes approximately 8 weeks. 

Documents for visa application: 

  • Passport 
  • Letter of acceptance by J. E. Purkyně University 
  • A financial agreement/bank account report confirming sufficient resources to cover your stay in the Czech Republic 
  • A police report, or an affidavit, that you have no criminal record in your home country 
  • Payment of the fee for issuing the visa 
  • 4 passport pictures (35x45mm)

Schengen area

The Schengen area includes the Czech Republic and most of the EU member countries in continental Europe, and also some non-EU member countries. The borders between Schengen countries are now open, and citizens of EU member countries can travel easily from country to country. 

Residence permit

All foreign students staying at dormitories are automatically registered by the Foreign Police. Students staying in private flats, homes, etc. have to make the registration by the Foreign Police on their own. 

Department for Asylum and Migration Policy office: 
Berní 2261/1, 400 01 Ústí nad Labem 

Opening hours: 
Monday, Wednesday:     8.00 - 17.00 
Tuesday, Thursday:         8.00 - 14.00 


All international students must have a health insurance during their stay in the Czech Republic. Students from EU need their Health Insurance Card (a blue one). 

Non-EU students need COMPLEX pVZP insurance. 

After all students arrival, they have to register at the health insurance company called Všeobecná zdravotní pojišťovna (VZP).